This sandstone slab of which the bottom half is missing, bears an elaborate ringed cross that is decorated with spirals and interlace. A unique feature is the depiction of the evangelists St. Mark and St. Luke on either side of the ring.
John Waple was a merchant in Jacobean Athlone. This plaque bears a coat of arms and the inscription 1621 ERECTED BY JOHN WAPLE MARCHANT. The implication was that Waple had been granted arms as a testament to his status and wealth. This would have helped to underpin his commercial reliability. This plaque was recovered from an external wall in Custume Place, the probable location of his business.
This massive iron padlock and key were used to secure the North Gate. Its face is inscribed with its date of 1613, which is shown in Roman numerals. The gatehouse was located at the junction of North Gate Street and Lucas Lane. Built in 1578, it was demolished in 1840.
St Peter’s Port arch stones St Peter’s Port was the water gate to the south harbour of the west town. The keystone includes a medieval head. The haunch stones carry the curious couplet: ‘O may not Satan’s agents enter/Will O’Wisp and Jack the Printer’. A local man named Booth was responsible for the inscription, which